Please login or join to use the Hideout!

Forums Rants 'n' Raves Shakin' Street
  • Topic: Discouraged

Back To Topics
    (0 rates)
    • March 26, 2012 1:21 AM CDT
      • Post(s)
      • Like(s)
      • Liked
      • cR(s)
        0 0

Untitled

i'm just learning how to play guitar. i'm using the open e tuning ala early Gun Club.
      i wanted to ask you experienced folks how i can go about singing & playing at the same time. any tips?

• October 12, 2012 6:17 PM CDT
      • Post(s)
      • Like(s)
      • Liked
      • cR(s)
        0 0

Untitled

That last sentence is great advice. First you've gotta think about it a lot and then POW you wake up one day and it's second nature.

Matt said:

I learned how to sing while playing guitar using the Ramones. A song like "Rock-a-way Beach" has all the chord changes during breaks in the singing. So it allows you to do one thing at a time.

Here's the honest truth: Singing and playing guitar is like riding a bike. It takes a while to get the balance, but once you figure it out, it's easy to keep going forward.

• March 29, 2012 10:11 PM CDT
      • Post(s)
      • Like(s)
      • Liked
      • cR(s)
        0 0

Untitled

I learned how to sing while playing guitar using the Ramones. A song like "Rock-a-way Beach" has all the chord changes during breaks in the singing. So it allows you to do one thing at a time.

Here's the honest truth: Singing and playing guitar is like riding a bike. It takes a while to get the balance, but once you figure it out, it's easy to keep going forward.

• March 26, 2012 2:07 PM CDT
      • Post(s)
      • Like(s)
      • Liked
      • cR(s)
        0 0

Untitled

thanks ya'll. i'm going to take what you've shared and get to it. :)

• March 26, 2012 9:26 AM CDT
      • Post(s)
      • Like(s)
      • Liked
      • cR(s)
        0 0

Untitled