Please login or join to use the Hideout!

Forums Rants 'n' Raves Shakin' Street
  • Topic: Good affordable drums?

Back To Topics
    (0 rates)
    • January 29, 2013 2:13 AM CST
      • Post(s)
      • Like(s)
      • Liked
      • cR(s)
        0 0

Untitled

I'm looking for a decent, but...cheap set of drums. Hey, i'm an art student in college, i'm not exactly climbing the money tree. My last kit was a Pulse and I loved it, it had great sound and was super cheap $300-$350...sadly my kit was stolen...so I need to start building up my setup again. I think the Pulse set I had is discontinued now, sadly, so I need to look for something else. Anyone know how Sound Percussion and DDrum sets are? 

• February 7, 2013 6:50 PM CST
      • Post(s)
      • Like(s)
      • Liked
      • cR(s)
        0 0

Untitled

We got our drums for $75 at a garage sale up the road - then bought good $$ cymbals and kick pedal. Our drummer has never played drums before and none of us know how to tune it properly. The kit is a 70's mass produced cheapy.

That said -- we're really happy with how it sounds and after gigs we get real proper drummers complimenting our drummer on her drum tone. Maybe we got lucky ... maybe setting up the kit trusting our ears was the way to go ... ?? ...

• February 4, 2013 4:06 PM CST
      • Post(s)
      • Like(s)
      • Liked
      • cR(s)
        0 0

Untitled

Hello,

A good brand of drums is Tama, generally they are not too exspensive and they sound pretty good. Also Yamaha and Pearl are good too, do you Premier kits your side of the pond? They also sound good and are reasonable in price.

Personally I prefer Sabain cymbals, but with regards to Cymbals you really get what you pay for. You'll probably should consider a small crash and a large ride which rings on for that nice reasonance sound.

Mapex do a good range of budget kick pedals and Gibraltor are a good solid brand too.